How Joseph's Seasons of Change Can Teach You to Navigate Your Own

(Unsplash/Chris Lawton)

R.A. Martinez, author of The Joseph Journey: What Every Pioneer Needs to Know says there are seven seasons of the biblical Joseph's journey, with lessons to learn from each season. Joseph's story is so much more complex than Sunday school teachings led us to believe. Dive deep into the spiritual journey Joseph's life portrays on this part two episode of MAPS Global on the Charisma Podcast Network. Forpart one of this discussion, listen to the episode here.

The lessons to be learned from Joseph's story, Martinez says, are so simple many overlook it. But, he says, "Joseph could have never imagined the context in which those dreams would be fulfilled."

According to Martinez, a strong overarching theme within these seven seasons represented in Joseph's life is "that eventually [his] integrity leads him into controversy." This specifically applies to the time of comfort Joseph enjoyed right before he was wrongfully accused and thrown in prison. Martinez goes on to say, "[Joseph] was in a sweet spot. And he never would have gone willingly. God had to orchestrate the transition by causing controversy around him, to eject him."

Through the hardships in his seasons, Martinez says God was teaching Joseph that "the only kind of leadership in the kingdom is servant leadership."

For a richer understanding of the seasons God took Joseph through, listen to the full podcast here.

Get Spirit-filled content delivered right to your inbox! Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.

Great Resources to help you excel in 2019! #1 John Eckhardt's "Prayers That..." 6-Book Bundle. Prayer helps you overcome anything life throws at you. Get a FREE Bonus with this bundle. #2 Learn to walk in the fullness of your purpose and destiny by living each day with Holy Spirit. Buy a set of Life in the Spirit, get a second set FREE.

Your Turn

Comment Guidelines
View/Add Comments
Charisma — Empowering believers for life in the Spirit